Started a Mystery Crochet Along Project

In the last year that I’ve been crocheting, I’ve seen various mystery projects — the designer sends out elements of a pattern each week or month and you won’t know what the finished project will look like until the end. After inevitably stumbling on mystery projects just before the end, I finally found one that I was interested in and just about to start!

It’s called the FRAN Mystery CAL (crochet-a-long) by Shelley Husband at spincushions.com. It’s a granny square afghan, created in 10 parts, starting March 7 and ending July 11. The designer’s finished product was 68″ square, but because I’m using a different yarn and I may crochet differently than the designer, there is no way to know how big mine will be until the end.

Without knowing exactly what it is going to look like at the end, choosing colors was a challenge. The designer chose to use one color for the entire project. Other people have chosen to change colors for each row. I decided to use shades of purple and grey. Because no matter what it looks like at the end, if it has purple, it’s going to be awesome.

So I’m hoping to make this the regular Thursday post. Stay tuned for next Thursday and see how I’m doing on the first squares of my FRAN afghan!

One thought on “Started a Mystery Crochet Along Project

Leave a Reply

